rest in peace Mr. Dorson

My favorite teacher in high school, Mr. Dorson died a few days ago. I really can’t talk about this in elaboration because it feels strange and simply, sad. Mr. Dorson was my history teacher and I was part of the last class he had at Catalina Foothills High School. That year when I was a junior, he left CFHS after a controversy over a student whom he believed had cheated, and the student was up for a big scholarship and on his way to Northwestern University. I was outraged at the time. I in fact wrote about it in the Tucson Citizen, which ironically I posted a few weeks ago in this blog.  In that article for the Tucson Citizen, I wrote:

He has resigned because he stood up for what he believed in and received no support from the school board. He knows how much many of us want him to stay. He knows he will leave a big hole in this school, as his impact is enormous.

Every school has that one who stands out, that teacher everyone knows about and wants to have, the teacher who makes his class exciting and changes lives forever.

Mr. Dorson was energetic and simply put, amazing. The last time I saw him was at the airport, on one of my visits home from Wellesley College. He saw me from far, and in his quirky mannerism, dropped his bag tot he floor, opened his mouth wide and wobbled over to me to give me a big hug. He asked me how I was and said that he was proud of me.

To read about Mr. Dorson, click here.

2 thoughts on “rest in peace Mr. Dorson

  1. I don’t know you, but I found your blog while searching for Mr. Dorson’s obituary. You and I are bookends. I was a member of his FIRST AP U.S. History class at Catalina Foothills. Like you, I have never had another teacher quite like him. Thanks for saying nice things about him. Your obituary beat Starnet’s, for sure, as spoke truer to my experience of him. We’re both lucky to have known him.

  2. As a teacher I can tell you that he would have been proud and pleased with this post. I only hope that when I’m gone someone like yourself with say similar things about me. Thank you for remembering your teacher in this way.

Leave a Reply

