Threat on Amsterdam- Detroit Flight

I did not even know about this until now because I have been traveling since Friday morning from Boston to come to Sadui Arabia (26 hour journey total, 18 hours on a plane, with two stops in the middle- lovely time for me as one can imagine). Interesting because it happened Friday and I was in Amsterdam Saturday morning until 2 pm and had no idea that it happened right there less than a day ago. Rather, I landed on the international terminal and went about my way for the next 5 hours, no extra security check or anything. I am not sure it should have happened but I will say that the airport was good at making sure we did not feel out of place…

I miss reading the news for just one day and I miss all this!

I did not even see it on the news here in Saudi Arabia…

Earlier on Sunday, Janet Napolitano, the Homeland Security secretary, said that there was so far no evidence of a wider terrorist plot in what federal authorities said was an attempt by a 23-year-old Nigerian man to blow up a Detroit-bound Northwest Airlines flight on Christmas Day.

I just hope this does not turn into another terrible thing for airport security where privacy is interfered for the national good.

Leave a Reply

