Reaching the first week mark at AUC

Tomorrow, it will be one week of being a student at AUC. And thus far, I am still trying to change my classes, but I think I am going to give up and have to settle for taking in the 7 am bus from Zamalek to the New Campus four times a week. Which means I have to wake up around 6 am, and after having had 5 semester in college trying any way I can so that I don’t wake up before 9 am, this is going to be interesting.

The Arabic Langiage Institute head person basically said a big NO to the possibility of changing my schedule so that I can be on the later class. I was not too upset at the time because I didn’t know how to make the argument of hating to wake up early legitimate. But since I am here to learn Arabic, I am simply going to have to get over it.

My global political science class looks interesting, but my professor is most likely anti-American who on the first day argued that the free market was causing the recession and that it was the United State’s fault that the third world was not developing fast enough, such as Egypt. I went to another of her classes to check it out later that day and she basically ignored my American friend’s raised hand and picked on another Egyptian who had her hand up after my fellow study abroad student. It was on the topic of American elections. Anyways, I am looking forward to that.

The same professor has indicated that 10% would be deducted from papers if it had “bad English”. She emphasized that were were in an American school and need to speak adequate English and discussed the writing center if anyone needed help. I wonder how many of these high-ego students actually go there.

I really feel like AUC fits the stereotype about high class Arab children. I swear I have seen the same students lurking around the fountain from the morning to the afternoon, same place. And the courtyard is still crowded when classes are in session. It is a very “happening” scene, but really?

After getting off the bus today I made a run to the Metro supermarket (a small grocery store nearby) to buy water bottles because I hate paying more than double the price on campus for water. In terms of dollars its nothing, but since we are all about cultural immersion, let’s be fair.I went to my falafel corner stall where Karim nor Ahmed were there but I didn’t manage to get ripped off either. I wonder how long it will take until people here see that I am not a tourist but that I actually live here.

Leave a Reply

